About the Province

Welcome to the Province and to our Website

This website is here to provide information for both existing Mark Masons and anyone looking to learn more about us.

We have no secrets, so please feel free to browse the pages, to learn more about our activities, events and history.

We are a relatively small Province in terms of numbers, but large in terms of our geographic area and the generosity of our hearts.

The Magic of the Mark – Hwyl Y Marc

The Magic of the Mark is an informative video from Mark Masons Hall that provides a great deal of information on the Degree, and explains the Mark Benevolent Fund, progression within the Degree, how it is administered, and much more.

Please note that by clicking on the video image, YouTube/Google Cookies may be stored on your computer.
Please see the Google Privacy Policy for further details.

YouTube player

Click/Tap once to enable. Click/Tap on the Play button again to play the video.

Provincial History

Our history begins in 1871, with the Consecration of St David’s Lodge of Mark Master Masons No. 38 (then known as No. 25) in Llandudno, which came under the control of the Grand Lodge of Mark Master Masons of England & Wales in 1872.

Eight years later, a second Lodge of Mark Master Masons  – Snowdonia Lodge No. 259, was Consecrated in Porthmadog and in the same year the modern Province of North Wales was formed.

Learn More about our History Learn more about Snowdonia Lodge

The 2023-2024 Provincial Team

Provincial Grand MasterJohn S. EvansElffin321
Deputy Provincial Grand MasterPhilip Joseph EdwardsSt Giles760
Senior WardenJacob BuisSt Grwst1772
Junior WardenDavid EdwardsBuckley1703
Master OverseerPaul HughesSt Davids38
Senior OverseerBryn HughesSnowdonia259
Junior OverseerLes WoolfendenDyffryn Clwyd1647
ChaplainAndrew Pettigrew DaviesSt Davids38
TreasurerDavid Purton TurveyBuckley1703
RegistrarFaris RaoufEifl927
SecretaryColin Anthony LeminHunter324
Director of CeremoniesGareth Wynne DaviesHolywell1394
AlmonerPaul SeftonHunter324
Charity StewardMichael William PughSt Giles760
Inspector of WorksGavin W JonesElffin321
Sword BearerPeter DempseySt Giles760
Deputy ChaplainFarrell McManusWelchpool1084
Deputy SecretaryBrian Sion JonesSt Seiriol688
Deputy Director of CeremoniesDavid RatchfordFflint1509
Senior DeaconJohn BartleySt Mabon919
Senior DeaconAnthony HayesFflint1509
Junior DeaconArfon RobertsSt Seiriol688
Junior DeaconThomas Christopher ShawHolywell1394
Assistant ChaplainKenneth Leonard ElliottHawarden838
Assistant Director of CeremoniesIolo Wyn JonesColwyn1169
Assistant Director of CeremoniesDavid O’BrienHunter324
OrganistK. David WilliamsSt Giles760
Standard BearerDavid Brynmor ReesFflint1509
Assistant Standard BearerPeter Sutcliffe-BrownWelchpool1084
Inner GuardPhilip Henry HughesBuckley1703
StewardMartin W JonesSnowdonia259
StewardDavid Arthur HowesHawarden838
StewardE. Kenneth CheatleBuckley1703
TylerWilliam Harrison TallontireSt David’s38

2019-2020 Team Visit Schedule

17/09/19St Seiriol 688MarkCentenaryBangor
07/11/19St Giles 760MarkInstallationWrexham
19/11/19Eifl 927MarkInstallationPwllheli
15/01/20Y Geninen 259RAMInstallationBangor
25/02/20St Giles 760RAMElevationWrexham
12/03/20Idris 821RAMElevationPwllheli
04/04/20RAM AssemblyRAMWrexham
08/04/20Idris 821MarkInstallationBarmouth
18/05/20Holywell 1394RAMInstallationMostyn
20/06/20Provincial Grand LodgeMarkConnah’s Quay